Better Synchronization in Duration and From-To Fields

2014-12-03T11:23:31+00:00

The moment you decide to implement time tracking in your company or project team you start to focus on data accuracy. Collected data are your basis of further processes like billing, estimations, planning. You need them to be precisely recorded. This is the reason why synchronization in such fields like duration and from-to is very important. We took care of it.

Some time ago we introduced the synch in mentioned fields to make you sure, that whenever you want to edit your time entries, you won’t miss any valuable minutes. This means that if you change one of three figures, the rest will adapt to give you desired results. You don’t need to worry then, when you forget to switch tasks, run the timer. Your timesheets will adjust to the changes you make.

Another thing we modified was conducting the two views of your timesheets when you get back to the previous task and continue to measure time for it:

1. TimeCamp may create a new entry for this task

2. TimeCamp may modify time in the existing entry for the particular assignment.

However, with the second option there was a kind of risk connected with fields synchronization. It could affect it badly and mess the entries in your timesheets.

To make it easier and more effective we decided to block „Modify time in existing entry” option when you have your fields synchronization on. It automatically switches to „Create new entry”. We also switched off the synchronization for users who selected “Modify time in existing entry” before the change.

Better Synchronization in Duration and From-To Fields

So right now, to turn the modifying time in existing time entries you need to turn of the synchronization. This will help you keep your timesheets in order.

In case of any questions do not hesitate to contact us or leave a comment below.

One thought on “Better Synchronization in Duration and From-To Fields

  1. Thanks for the explanation. It would be useful to provide this info in the app. I spent some time hunting for the option to enable it for my user before finally giving up and turning to Google.

    note: the little message in the yellow box in your image above does not show up for me (latest Chromium / Linux x64).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Every day we publish interesting and valuable content on our blog

Stay in touch and broaden your knowledge about management

We guarantee 100% privacy. Your information will not be shared.