DIFFERENCE BETWEEN PROJECTS AND TASKS
In TimeCamp, projects are basically groups of tasks. From a technical point of view, there are not many differences between projects and tasks. For example, you can create a project named after your client, to which you will later add multiple subtasks converting your business relations.
Projects contain lists of tasks. Use a project for a larger goal and a task for an action someone in your team needs to take in order to achieve that goal. You can create the unlimited tree structure, that will contain the many projects, with numerous subtasks, which can have even more 3/4/5.. levels of tasks, belonging to them.
CREATING THE PROJECT
You can create, edit and delete/archive tasks on the Project Management page.
To create a project simply hit “Add project” on the top of the page (1). Optionally, if you’d like this task to be a subtask of another project, hover with a mouse on the certain project and click on “Add task” button (2).
*You can also Import your tasks from CSV file or import them from the integration (to see more scroll down, to the bottom of the article).
When done with creating a task, it will automatically appear on the task list. Click on the name of your task to edit it.
MANAGING/ EDITING PROJECTS
In the edit panel, you can add assign people or entire groups(1), give people different privileges (2), set time or money budget, make this task billable and share with a link(3) and enable keywords, used for Automatic time tracking (4). The last thing is to hit “save” button (5).
Apart from the mentioned features, there are several more things you can do with a single task/project.
After clicking on a project, apart from editing box on the right, four more buttons will be displayed on the project bar:
“+Add task” will allow you to add a lower level task to your project
“Time report” will show you the detailed report to the certain project
“Play button” will start a timer to this task
“…” will expand the list of further features
- Archive – will move the task to the archived list. It’s important to remember that once the task is archived, you will no longer have the possibility to track time to it. Unless you delete the project you will still be able to see its time in the reports, only if you mark the proper filter (Active and archived). You can also see the whole list of the archived tasks by clicking on “…” on the top of the page.
- Clone – Keep in mind that if you clone project, you will do it along with its structure.
- Move– you can move task/project to the different project (along with the hours)
- Delete – remember, that once you delete a project you will lose all tracked time, assigned to this project
- Move time– You can move time from one project to another ( You can also move only part of the time, by entering the detailed report)
- Edit note – create a note, that will be visible to a different projects members
MANAGING THE PROJECT STRUCTURE
Apart from the single tasks, you can also manage the whole structure. On the top bar, you will find some useful buttons, that will help you to find the one, certain task you need.
In the search box, you can easily find your tasks. You can also use the filter that will allow you to see only your own tasks or tasks belonging to your entire team. Next feature collapses /expands all of your projects so you can both see only 1st level projects or see the structure in the way so all of your tasks are visible in one place.
“…” expands the list, where you can not only searching/filtering your project, but you can manage its entire structure. You can go to the Archived list, where you can see all of your archived tasks in one place. You can also import your tasks from CSV. The last way of creating structure is to simply import it from different applications. See the list of the available native integrations.